Category Archives: social media

What is YOLO

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

You see YOLO on Facebook, on Twitter, on Instagram. You see it everywhere on the internet. You hear teenagers say this a lot and some even have shirts that say “YOLO.” You may be wondering, what is YOLO?

Meaning of the Acronym                 

YOLO is actually an acronym that stands for You Only Live Once. This is like a slang term for the Latin phrase, carpe diem, which means “seize the day.” You can also see it as a modern term for the Latin phrase, memento mori which is a reminder that death is inevitable. This suggests that one should live life to the fullest and not be afraid of taking risks.

Origin of YOLO

This slang term is popularized by the rapper, Drake, in his song The Motto. Since then, this slogan was used by teenagers and became popular in the internet world. Aside from that, different kinds of merchandise with this slang term were produced. To find more about the origin of YOLO, you can watch this short documentary: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68UoHcCpX5Y.

Conclusion

The problem with the popularization of this term is that the real and logical definition of what is YOLO seems to be ignored because it is sometimes used as an excuse for reckless and irresponsible behavior. It is ironic that people who use the slogan You Only Live Once turn to this phrase whenever they do things that they are likely to regret in the future.

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

Links:

How to Video Chat on Facebook

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

Facebook, in partnership with Skype, launched a new application that lets users have a face-to-face conversation through video calling. Listed below are the simple steps on how to video chat on facebook.

Step One: Initiate a chat with a friend.

From the chat menu at the right side of the screen, choose a friend with whom you want to converse with. By clicking the name of your friend, a chat window will open.

Step Two: Click the video icon.                            

The video button is located at the upper right part of your chat window. If this is your first time to use the video calling feature of facebook, a window will pop-up asking if you want to set up video calling.

Step 3: Start the Set Up.

To start the set up program, you will have to click install from the pop-up window. A file will be downloaded and saved in your hard drive. When the download is done, double-click on the file to start the installation process.

When the set-up is complete, a pop-up window will appear informing you that Facebook is calling your friend.

Step 4: Wait for your friend to accept the video call.

Once your call is answered, a video of you and your friend will appear on a new pop-up window and you can start your video chat.

Step 5: To end the call, close the video window.

You can end your video chat by simply clicking the x located at the upper right corner of the video window.

Conlusion

This article on how to video chat on facebook shows the simple steps to start a video session with your friends the easiest way possible without using other software.

Tips:

  1. During installation, facebook might ask your permission to access your webcam and microphone. If this pop-up window appears, simply click “Allow.”
  2. After the set-up is complete and facebook doesn’t automatically call your selected friend, just click the video icon to retry.
  3. Obviously, a webcam is necessary for the video calling feature of facebook.

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

More

What is LinkedIn

You may have heard your friends talking about LinkedIn or have been invited to join, but you may be wondering, what is LinkedIn anyway?

LinkedIn as a Networking Site

LinkedIn is a networking site but unlike Twitter or Facebook, it focuses on your professional life. People use LinkedIn to interact with other users in a professional or business-focused context.

LinkedIn as an Online Directory

It can also be seen as an online directory for professionals and companies. Currently, LinkedIn has over 225 million members from different countries. It can be a great way to research or find information about a specific person or organization.

LinkedIn as a Job Search Website

LinkedIn also allows users to post their resume and is also used by companies for recruiting purposes. It lets recruiters access your profile, know your past work experiences and skills, and determine whether you are qualified for the job opening.

Conclusion                                             

Knowing what is LinkedIn and its purposes will certainly help users to boost their chance in building their career. The advantage of using LinkedIn is that it allows you to be visible to recruiters and human resources staff.

How to delete Instagram

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

Instagram is a favourite social photo sharing site and app of many. It rose to popularity because of the convenience in taking photos, using filters and sharing. Whether you are tired of sharing your photos or just tired of the people you share with.

how to delete instagram takes just a few steps:

  1. Open your web browser.
  2. Go to the instagram homepage (www.instagram.com)
  3. Click the “log in” button
  4. Type in you username and password then click the “log in” button.
  5. Look at the upper right hand corner of your screen and click your username.
  6. Select “edit profile” from the drop down menu.
  7. Look at the bottom right corner and click “I’d like to delete my account”.
  8. From the drop down menu, click the reason why you want to delete your instagram account.
  9. Enter your password in the box that says “to continue, please re-enter your password”.
  10. Click “permanently delete my account”

Tips:

  • Deleting an instagram account can also be done using a smartphone but not directly from the app. Follow the same process above using the internet browser of your smartphone.

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

More

How to use Tumblr

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

Tumblr is a microblogging and social networking site that has been around since 2006. Compared to other microblogging sites like Twitter  and Plurk, Tumblr does not limit posts to 140 characters, which makes it a big internet favourite.  Learning how to use tumblr is really simple and can be really fun.

1. Go to www.tumblr.com and register for an account.

  • Choose a username which will also be your display name and a part of your URL
  • Your username can be changed in your blog settings.
  • Choose a strong password that is easy for you to remember.

2. Orient yourself with the 7 different types of posts.

  • Text  – contains plain text although hyperlinks, images, videos and html widgets can be added too
  • Photo – images accompanied by a short description
  • Quote – title text (or the quote) and one line of body text that tells where the quote is from
  • Link – descriptive text linked to a website
  • Chat – shares a short conversation
  • Audio – one .mp3 file of a music track or podcast which is playable using Flash music player.
  • Video – embedded video that can be uploaded from the computer or from websites such as Vimeo and YouTube.

3. Create your post.

  • Choose the kind of post that you want to put up.
  • Write or arrange your post
  • Click on the button that you want to use:

-post –puts the content up in real time

-draft – save your blog entry for editing and posting later

-queue – posts the blog entry even when you are offline. You get to set the time or interval for publishing posts

4. Follow people and get your own followers.

  • Followers are subscribers to your blog. Your posts will appear on their dashboard.
  • Followers can like and reblog your posts and interact with you more.
  • Clicking on the follow button allows you to subscribe to a tumblr account.

5. Interact with the tumblr community.

  • Like – clicking on the heart symbol is the way of liking a post
  • Reblog – if you find that a post is relevant or you like it a lot, reblogging is the way to go. The arrows next to the heart are for reblogging.
  • Messages – if your ask box is accessible to other tumblr users, you can receive questions from anyone in the tumblr community and anonymous visitors as well.
  • Comment – commenting on a certain post can be text or photos

Read more about How to -  simple manuals on the web

More